DRE Sponsor No. 0473 & S0110
NMLS Course Provider No. 1400986
Call 951.781.7300
Se Habla Español

DRE Courses

Renewal Courses

Licensing Courses

NMLS Courses

Renewal Courses
 

DRE Renewal Courses

Q: Does your package include the mandatory Ethics requirement?
A: Yes. Every 45 hour package includes 3 hours of Ethics.
Q: How do I know which course I need to take?
A: Any ONE (1) of our 45-hour packages meets all DRE CE requirements. You may choose whichever course package is of most interest to you.
Q: Can I repeat the same DRE renewal course I took in my previous renewal?
A: Yes. If you repeat a course, you will receive new material that is updated and reflective of current law and practice.
Q: What's the difference between e-book and printed book, e-book, and Online-timed e-book?
A: All three versions of the courses have online access to the entire course and satisfy the requirement. E-book and printed book includes hard copies of the books that are mailed to you. The e-book enrollment includes PDF e-books for your course online
  • e-book and printed - No timer
  • e-book - downloadable with no timer
  • Online-timed e-book - logging 45 hours reading online

  • With e-book and printed book or e-book enrollment you may not complete the course in less than 6 days. Our courses are broken down in 3 sections, 2 days of study time and completed quizzes is required per step before taking exams

    Online-timed e-book courses do not include hard copies of your books. Everything is completed from our website. An online-timed e-book enrollment comes with a reading timer, which counts your hours spent in the course. Upon accruing 15 hours reading and completing the quizzes for any one section of the course, your exam for that section will be available

    (Note: Inactivity for 10 minutes will cause you to be automatically logged out.)
    Q: Can I use someone else's books?
    A: Yes. You will be charged an e-book enrollment fee. (When calling in to enroll please have the books with you to verify you have the current editions.)
    Q: How do I take my exams?
    All students take the exam online from our website. The exam has 4 parts - only one part may be taken in any 24-hour period. Quizzes are also taken online.
    Q: What happens if I fail my exam?
    A: You have 1 retake of the exam which you can take immediately or later after studying a little more. Should you fail your second attempt, you will have to wait two days to further study and retake the quizzes before you can retake the exam. There is no fee for this.
    Q: How do I renew my license?
    A: You can renew your license online on the DRE's eLicensing website, or by mailing in the renewal application, RE 251, and a check for the renewal fee to the DRE. To download the DRE forms, view our Renewing your Sales Agent License or Renewing your Broker License pages.
    Q: Am I allowed to complete the course steps in any order?
    A: No, course steps must be completed in numerical order.
     

    DRE Licensing Courses

    Q: How do I get a California Real Estate Sales Agent License?
    A: To obtain a California Real Estate Sales Agent License, you need to take Real Estate Principles, Real Estate Practice and one elective course. Those courses make you eligible to sit for the State Exam. Then, you must take and pass the State Examination.
    Q: How do I get a California Real Estate Broker License?
    A: To obtain a California Real Estate Broker License, you need to take 8 college-level real estate courses, and have either 2 years' full-time experience as a Real Estate Sales Agent or a 4-year college degree with a major or minor in Real Estate. The courses you took to qualify for the Sales Agent license will count toward the 8-course total.
    Q: What applications do I need for the State Exam?
    A:
     
    For the Sales Agent Exam
    • EXAM AND LICENSE: RE 435 and RE 237 is mailed in with copies of the certificates of completion for the 3 required courses and a $305.00 exam and license fee.
     
    For the Broker Exam
    • EXAM AND LICENSE: RE 436 and RE 237 is mailed in with copies of the certificates of completion for the 2-8 required courses and a $395.00 exam and license fee.

      (Note: Allow 4-5 weeks to receive test date.)
    Q: What is the State Exam like?
    A: The California Sales Agent exam consists of 150 multiple-choice questions. The applicant is given 3 hours and 15 minutes to complete the examination. A passing score is 70% or better, which is a minimum of 105 correct answers.

    The California Broker exam consists of 200 multiple-choice questions. The applicant is given a total of 5 hours to complete the examination. This exam is administered in two parts: 100 questions in the morning and another 100 questions in the afternoon. The applicant is given 2 hours and 30 minutes for each session. A passing score is 75% or better, which is a minimum of 150 correct answers.
    Q: What if I have already taken a Real Estate Principles course?
    A: If you completed a full-semester (or equivalent) Real Estate Principles course in college, no matter how long ago, or a Real Estate Principles course from a private vocational school in California, You will not need to re-take the course as the certificate of completion is valid forever. You will still need to complete a Real Estate Practice course and one elective course.
    Q: Is my Certificate of Completion still valid?
    A: If the course was taken through a private vocational school in California, your Certificate of Completion is still valid, since licensing Certificates of Completion do not expire. If it was taken through a college, your transcripts will be valid.
    Q: How can I find out which courses I've already completed towards obtaining a Broker license?
    A: You can contact the school you completed your courses with, or you can contact the DRE. The DRE keeps your licensing courses on file. The DRE has an automated phone system that you will use so that you do not have to wait to speak to a live representative.
    Q: What is the cost for the courses?
    A: The price for the Minimum Package is $176.50 for all 3 courses. You can also purchase our Basic Package for $206.50, which includes all 3 courses, plus the State Exam Prep Book. Or you can purchase our Basic-Plus Package for $256.50 which includes the 3 courses, the Prep Book, and our Online Video Crash Course.

    The price for Broker Licensing Courses is $176.50 for 3 courses, $226.50 for 4 courses, $276.50 for 5 courses.
    Q: How does your program work?
     

    NMLS Renewal Courses

    Q: Are first tuesday's courses approved by NMLS?
    A: Yes. Our approved course provider is #1400986. Course approval numbers are located on the NMLS order page. A list of all first tuesday courses currently approved by the NMLS can be found here.
    Q:Does first tuesday offer courses to obtain an NMLS license?
    A: At this time, we do not offer NMLS pre-licensing education. We only offer the continuing education courses. We recommend a third-party school called Mortgage Education, click here for more information.
    Q: Is the 8-hour continuing education course online only or will I receive books?
    A: The entire 8-hour continuing education course is done online. No books are shipped.
    Q: Does first tuesday report my completion to the NMLS? How quickly?
    A: Yes. We bank your NMLS course completion directly with the NMLS within 7 days of course completion. During the peak NMLS renewal season, we bank course completions more frequently. When your course has been banked with NMLS we will notify you by email.
    Q: Do you offer live NMLS courses?
    A: No, we do not offer live NMLS courses. We recommend a third party school called Duane Gomer Seminars, click here for more informoration
    Q: I heard you can't take the same course two years in a row. Can I still take first tuesday's course?
    A: The NMLS prohibits MLOs from completing the same 8-hour NMLS CE topics two years in a row. Our courses are fully compliant with this rule.
    Q: How many quizzes and exams are there?
    A: There are 8 total multiple choice quizzes. One multiple choice quiz is given online at the end of each module. There is 1 multiple choice course exam, taken online at the end of the 8 modules.
    Q: Do I have to do all 8 hours in one sitting?
    A: No. At any time during the reading, click "Student Homepage" to save your progress.
    Q: Do I have to pass the quizzes?
    A: You must pass each quiz with a 70% or better to proceed.
    Q: How many times can I take the exam? Will I have to pay again?
    A: You have a total of 4 attempts to pass the exam with a 70% or better. If you do not pass the exam in the 4 attempts, you will be required to wait 24 hours before you are given 4 more attempts to pass the exam. There is no charge for retaking the course within your enrollment period.
    Q: Can I print the reading?
    A: After you complete a module you will be able to print a PDF version of the reading.
    Q: How does the computer know I spent 8 hours online?
    A: You must be engaged and active in the course for the requisite amount of time designated for each page before you can move on to the next page. Per NMLS guidelines, if inactivity of more than 6 minutes is detected, you will be logged out of the course and sent to the beginning of the current unit of instruction.
    Q: Can I just leave my computer running idle?
    A: No. You must be engaged and active in the course for the requisite amount of time in each page before you can move on to the next page. To do this, make sure you are actively clicking on the content.
    Q: When I get timed out, why does it take me back to the beginning of the unit?
    A: Per NMLS guidelines, if inactivity of more than 6 minutes is detected, you will be logged out of the course and will be sent to the beginning of the unit of instruction.
    Q: I passed my course. What do I do now?
    A: Your course completion will be reported directly to the NMLS within 7 days of course completion. The NMLS will update your NMLS status within 24 hours of receiving course completion confirmation. After 24 hours, log into your NMLS account online and follow the steps to renew your endorsement. Step by step walkthroughs can be found on the NMLS website.
    Q: What if I don't remember my BioSig ID from last year?
    A: That is okay. You can simply reset the password by failing the attempts purposely three times in a row. After the third and final attempt, you will receive an email with an authentication code that you will input back onto the website in order for you to rest your BioSig ID.
    Q: Why won't it allow me to do the same character on all boxes? (example: 1111)
    A: BioSig ID must not contain the same character four times in a row. One of those characters must be different from the other three.
    Q: Will I be required to do the BioSig each time I log in?
    A: Yes. BioSig is required for modules 1,3, and 6.
    Q: I drew the same password when it asked me to again, why does it say it's not matching?
    A: The authentication of BioSig is very sensitive and you have to be sure that the strokes in each character are identical to your previous attempt.
    Q: What is the easiest way I can get through with the BioSig?
    A: We always recommend using a simple code such as X111. The characters with straight lines in them are easier to draw compared to letters or number with curves and loops in them. Try to avoid characters such as S,C,G,R,8,6, etc.

    Share first tuesday with a Friend

    Translate This Page